Richard H. Barchi Prize
Deadline: 28 February

The Richard H. Barchi Prize, named in honor of CDR Richard H. Barchi, USN (a former Director) and first presented in 1983, is awarded to recognize the best paper given at the MORS Symposium (MORSS).

Each year the Barchi Prize winner is selected from among presentations given at the previous year’s Symposium. Each Working Group, Composite Group and general session selects one presentation from all those presentations given during the three-day period. The presenter is then asked to submit his or her presentation in paper format. Once each group’s nominee has submitted a paper (or has chosen not to) the judging is held and the winning paper is announced at the following MORSS. The winner is awarded a $1,000 cash prize.

At the 87th MORS Symposium at The United States Air Force Academy this past summer, the following individuals were nominated to compete for the Barchi Prize that will be presented at the 88th MORS Symposium in June 2020:

87th Barchi Nominations 

Past Prize Winners

  • 2019 - Mr. Brandon M. McConnell, Thom J. Hodgson; Russell E. King; Yunan Liu; Greg H. Parlier; Kristin Thoney-Barletta; James R. Wilson
  • 2018 - Lt Col Matthew J. Robbins; PhD; Capt Phillip R. Jenkins; CPT Nathaniel D. Bastian, PhD; and Dr. Brian J. Lunday
  • 2017- LCDR Grant Garcia, Mr. Tom Karnezos, Mr. Joseph Adams and Dr. Eli Byrne
  • 2016 - Capt Benjamin R. Mayo, Dr. Darryl Ahner and Maj Jason Freels, PhD
  • 2015 - Mr. Sean Bhattacharya, Dr. Robert D. Clemence, Captain Robert A. Dinwoodie, Major Jeff D. Groves and Mr. Ian D. Macleod
  • 2014 - Dr. David Alderson, Dr. Gerald Brown, MAJ Michael Chankij, Mr. Gregory Mislick, Dr. Daniel Nussbaum, Dr. Javier Salmerón and CDR Harrison Schramm
  • 2013 - Christopher Pitcher, Mark Reid, Roxann Oyler, Kimberly Shenk, Doug Hellinger, and Christopher Hergenreter
  • 2012 - Shatiel Edwards and Brett Haas
  • 2011 - Captain Paul Nicholas and Dr. David Alderson
  • 2010 - MAJ Rob Dees, LTC Rob Kewley, LTC Kelly Ward, LTC Scott Nestler
  • 2009 - Johannes O. Royset and Maj Daniel N. Reber, USMC
  • 2008 - CAPT Joseph A. Mlakar
  • 2007 - LTC John W. Brau, Jr, Gerald G. Brown, W. Matthew Carlyle, Robert F. Dell
  • 2006 - Stephen Nolan, Robert Stevenson
  • 2005 - Tovey C. Bachman
  • 2004 - Mike McGinnis, Dave Saunders
  • 2003 - Sean O’Brien
  • 2002 - Branford J. McAllister
  • 2001 - Robert L. Shearer
  • 2000 - Kevin P. O'Rourke, T. Glenn Bailey, Raymond Hill, William B. Carlton
  • 1999 - Ronald R. Luman
  • 1998 - Arthur Brooks, Bart Bennett, Steve Bankes