David Rist Prize

The Rist Prize, named after David Rist (an early Director) and first presented in 1965, is awarded annually.  Until 2005 the prize was awarded for best paper submitted in response to a call for papers.  Beginning in 2006 the criteria for the prize was changed to the best implemented study submitted in response to a call for entries. Final judging takes place the Monday before the MORS Symposium (MORSS).

The Rist Prize now recognizes the practical benefit sound operations research can have on “real life” decision making and seeks the best implemented military operations research study from those submitted in response to a call for entries. The call solicits abstracts with letters of endorsement for implemented recommendations from studies or other operations research-based efforts, e.g., analyses, methodology improvements, that influenced major decisions or practices. Entries for individuals or teams submitted in response to this call will be eligible for consideration for the Rist Prize. There are cash prizes that may be awarded: $3,000 for the winner and $1,500 split amongst the honorable mentions.

Past Prize Winners

  • 2019 - Mr. Christopher Way 
  • 2018 - Mr. Brian Rose
  • 2017- Denis R. Shine and Nicholas K. Kempt
  • 2016 - Mr. Ian Kloo, Mr. Robert Greenway, LTC Sam Huddleston, Michal Haskell, Mr. Abe Usher
  • 2015 - Brian Rose
  • 2014 - Mr. Saiful Hannan
  • 2013 - LtCol David Scott, Capt Aaron Burciaga, Ms. Cynthia Cheek, Ms. Janice Scoggins
  • 2012 -  MAJ Matt Dabkowski, COL Bradley Pippin
  • 2011 - Prof. Milind Tambe, Prof. Fernando Ordonez, Mr. Manish Jain, Mr. James Pita, Prof. Christopher Kiekintveld, Erroll Southers, James B. Curren
  • 2010 – Mr. John Andrews, Mr. Patrick McKenna, Ms. Karen Phipps
  • 2009 - Mr. Joseph Mlakar of Marine Corps Combat Development Command
  • 2008 - MAJ Steven J. Sparling, MAJ Robert F. Dell (endorsed by Brig Gen Angelella, USPACOM), Dr William G. Lese, FS.
  • 2007- Dr. Edward S. Michlovich
  • 2006 - LTC Steven Stoddard, LTC Mark Brantley, LTC Clark Heidelbaugh
  • 2005 - John Zeto, Mark Brantley, Galeraye Collins
  • 2004 - Mark A. Gallagher, Bud Whiteman
  • 2003 - Mark A. Gallagher, Anthony W. Snodgrass and Gregory J. Ehlers
  • 2001 - H. Kent Pickett, W Peter Cherry
  • 2000 - Michael Fischerkeller, Wade Hinkle, Stephen D. Biddle
  • 1999 - Lee J. Lehmkuhl, David J. Lucia, James K. Feldman
  • 1998 - Paul H. Deitz, Michael W. Starks